The Board of Education, by virtue of action of annual District meetings under State law, consists of nine members, each of whom is elected for a term of three years. The terms are staggered so that three members are to be elected annually at the spring election and will assume office on the date established by State statute.

A Board member may be re-elected to the Board for an indefinite number of succeeding terms.

By pre-integration plans and by custom, members are elected from three areas within the District.

Area I - Townships of Emery, Flambeau, Worcester

Area II - City of Phillips, Township of Elk

Area III - Villages of Catawba and Kennan, Township of Harmony,

and parts of the Townships of Catawba, Georgetown, Hackett, and Kennan lying within the boundaries of the

School District of Phillips.

This does not preclude the fact that each member, regardless of residence location represents the educational interests of the entire District and the total cause of public education. Each elector may vote for candidates in all three areas.

The organizational meeting of the Board of Education shall be held on or within 30 days of the fourth Monday in April.

The Board shall elect from among its members a president, a vice-president, a clerk, a treasurer who is to be bonded, and at least one alternate for signing checks.

The clerk or designee must record the proceedings of annual and special meetings and record the minutes of regular meetings, orders, resolutions and proceedings. He/she shall certify the tax levy to each municipality, administer the oath of office to School Board members, and perform other duties as required by law.

Ref: Wisc. Statute 120.06

Wisc. Statute 120.05(1)(c) Wisc. Statute 120.17

Approved: 01/30/67 Revised: 08/12/80 Revised: 12/15/97 Revised: 12/21/09